Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Our services: Libraries and site information: 5 The College

An overview of our libraries

5 The College is a Grade II Listed Building within the cathedral close (called 'The College' in Durham).  It is home to the Durham Cathedral Archive and other collections.

Currently, pre-booked access to the archive collections is available for Durham University staff and students only.

Opening Times and Contact Details

Access is strictly by appointment

Appointments are normally available for the following days:

  • Wednesday: 9am-5pm (lunchtime closure possible)
  • Thursday:  9am-5pm (lunchtime closure by arrangement)
  • Other days: closed

5 The College
DURHAM
DH1 3EQ

Tel: +44 (0)191 334 1210 
Email: pg.library@durham.ac.uk

Ask DULib

Contact us through our enhanced virtual enquiry desk, Ask DULib. Search our FAQs, email us, or chat with a librarian. 
Ask DULib is available to all students, staff and users.

Ask DULib, Library Help

5 The College DH1 3EQ, view of building

How to access 5 The College

During the Epiphany term and Easter vacation 2021, on-site access to the Archives and Special Collections is available for members of Durham University on an essential access only basis.  You will need to make an appointment, for which please see separate information on Visiting us in person.

Please see our separate guide to reprographics services, if you are unable to visit in person.

For information on the collections that are managed at 5 The College, see:

At this stage, we do not have capacity to accommodate volunteers.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon and thank you for your patience in the meantime.

Visit Us

All colleagues, students, visitors, contractors and members of the public are required to wear a face covering inside all University buildings (unless an individual is exempt from wearing one due to a medical condition). As of 5 January 2021, this has included when seated at a study desk.

All other safety measures should also continue to be followed, including social distancing measures of 2 metres.

Please review the World Health Organisation’s guidance on the safe use of face coverings

The building is within the Cathedral Close (called ‘The College’) located on the south side of the cathedral. Number 5 is at the left side of the main terrace of houses. 

  • Access to The College is through an archway on North Bailey, just before you reach St John’s College 

  • We are at number 17 on the Durham City map or can be found by searching for DH1 3EQ on Google Maps. 

There is no car parking available for our visitors within The College.  

There are steps at the front of the building and our archives search room is located on the first floor with no lift access. If no lift access would cause difficulties for you, please mention this when making an appointment and we can make alternative arrangements to access the collections stored here. 

An Access Guide is available from the AccessAble website.