Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Search our collections

 

Use Discover to search all of the books, archives and other resources available within Durham University Library and Collections.

The Archives and Special Collections are catalogued at two different levels of detail.

  • All the collections are described in individual brief collection guides, which summarise their contents, availability and how to find out more information about them.
  • Most collections are also described in detailed catalogues, describing their contents item by item.

The collection guides can be searched using Discover. Lists of our collections are also available:

The catalogues can be searched in different ways according to their format.

  • Discover is the best starting point for searches of all our catalogues, combining catalogue information for printed, manuscript and archive collections. Museum objects, art collections and electronic resources can also be searched at the same time. Individual entries within Discover include a link to the archive or library catalogue where available.
  • Printed library books can also be searched by title, author, shelfmark, subject, keyword or place of publication using the separate Library Catalogue.
  • The online archive catalogue is most useful for providing a context for your search results as they are displayed within the catalogue of the collection of which they are a part. Being able to see where the material is located within the collection can give broader information about its significance or may reveal similar items stored with it that could also be investigated. These catalogues can be searched separately here.

If you need help interpreting our catalogues or looking for information within the collections, please ask DULib.