Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Our services: Using the Library: Information for Academic Staff

Ask DULib

Contact us through our enhanced virtual enquiry desk, Ask DULib. Search our FAQs, email us, or chat with a librarian. 
Ask DULib is available to all students, staff and users.

Ask DULib, Library Help

We work closely with our academic colleagues to support your teaching and research. Here are some of the ways we can work together. 

Support for Your Teaching 

Resource Lists 

Manage, create and update your resource (or reading) list using our resource list software to:  

  • include a wide range of resources – books, journal articles, websites, newspaper articles, videos and more 

  • provide direct links to electronic material 

  • arrange your resource list in the most suitable format for your module 

Share your resource list with us so we can:   

  • check the availability of recommended items and buy items where needed 

  • identify items we may need to digitise 

  • work with you to identify alternative material 


Explore our Collections 

Our team of Faculty Librarians can help you: 

  • explore and use the huge range of resources in our collections 

  • recommend relevant sources to support your teaching and research 

  • provide training and support on using our collections 

Our Museums, Galleries and Exhibitions and Archives and Special Collections specialists can help you explore our outstanding special collections and integrate them into your teaching. 
 

Develop our Collections 

Tell us about books you’d like to add to our collections through More Books. Encourage your students to use this too. 


Workshops, Tutorials and Guides 

We offer a range of research skills training to help you and your students get the most from our resources.  

Contact your Faculty Librarian to arrange a research skills training session.  

Don’t forget to encourage your students to: 

  • use our online tutorials

  • check the subject guides for advice on specific subject resources and information

  • make a 1:1 appointment with their Faculty Librarian to discuss specific assignments 
     

Help With Your Research 

See our Information for Researchers pages for advice on wider research issues, including: 

  • Open Access 

  • Bibliometrics 

  • Research data